Rainbow is a show which aired on ITV from September 1, 1972 until December 31, 1992. 20 years! It later had a spin-off called Rainbow Toy Shop which aired from 1994 until 1995. The original series had 23 series and 1071 episodes!

Most people are familiar with Geoffrey Hayes as the presenter, but it originally had David Cook and a very different looking Bungle and Zippy (there was no George).

My favourite parts were with the band. It has had 3 lineups: Rod, Jane and Matthew, Rod, Jane and Rodger and the most remembered was Rod, Jane and Freddy. Rod, Jane and Freddy later has their own show titled ‘The Rod, Jane and Freddy Show’.

The show is pretty simple and mostly boring, but some parts were incredibly funny. Our good friends at Den of Geek made a post compiling ‘the 18 most awesome things Rainbow’s Bungle has done’. You can view that here.

With all the reboots around, I wouldn’t be surprised if Rainbow is rebooted in the future.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s