Talk Like A Pirate Day: Captain Pugwash (1974 series)

Seeing as today is Talk Like A Pirate Day, I will take a look at the 1974 series of Captain Pugwash. There are two versions of this, one is normal. The other is in Pirate talk.

Normal

Captain Pugwash was based on the books of the same name by John Ryan, which were published between 1957 and 1991.

The TV series started in 1974. I love the Pirate adventures which are adventurous but have some great jokes at the same time.

The TV show was made using cardboard cutouts, season 1 was performed live. It makes for a really weird aesthetic. My favourite episode is Pirate of the Year, which I have included below thanks to Zesu Hute.

My only complaint about the series is that the episodes are very short, while the 1997 series episodes were much longer. I also prefer the 1997 series for that reason and the hand-drawn animation.

Pirate

Captain Pugwash was based on t’ books o’ t’ same name by John Ryan, which were published between 1957 and 1991. T’ TV series started in 1974. I love t’ Pirate adventures which be adventurous but have some great jokes at t’ same time. T’ TV show was made usin’ cardboard cutouts, season 1 was performed live. It makes for a really weird aesthetic. me favourite episode be Pirate o’ t’ Year, which I have included below thanks t’ Zesu Hute.

Me only complaint about t’ series be that t’ episodes be very short, while t’ 1997 series episodes were much longer. I also prefer t’ 1997 series for that reason and t’ hand-drawn animation.

Leave a Reply

